+ ALL CITY OF PARIS MUSEUMS

Discover all 14 City of Paris museums

» Fermer

Museum / The building and its history

The building was designed for the International Art and Technical Exhibition in 1937.
The museum opened in 1961 with, in particular, a core of works from the “modern” collections of the Petit Palais, and was enriched due to the generosity of the collectors Emanuele Sarmiento, Mathilde Amos and Ambroise Vollard.
The 1937 exhibition provided the opportunity for some remarkable acquisitions including: The Dance by Matisse, Nude in the bath and The Garden by Bonnard, The Cardiff Team by Robert Delaunay, The River by Derain, Discs by Léger, The Stopover by Lhote, The Blue Bird by de Metzinger, four Artists’ Portraits by Vuillard, furniture by Pierre Chareau, André Arbus, Jacques Emile Ruhlmann, which still number among the museum’s masterpieces, not forgetting the large murals by Robert and Sonia Delaunay, Albert Gleizes and Jacques Villon, acquired during the exhibition (donated by the Salon des Réalités Nouvelles in 1939). The Girardin bequest in 1953 was a decisive contribution and persuaded the authorities to move from the cramped galleries of the Petit Palais and to open a dedicated area within the Palais de Tokyo.

Key dates

/ USEFUL INFORMATION

11 avenue du Président Wilson
75116 Paris
Tél : 01 53 67 40 00

Open Tuesday to Sunday from 10am to 6pm. Late opening on Thursdays until 10pm (exhibitions only).
Permanent collection : free access

Metro Alma-Marceau or Iéna
RER C Pont de l'Alma
Bus 32, 42, 63, 72, 80, 92
Vélib' (self-service cycle hire) station: 2 rue Marceau

More information

Calendar of activities and events
Press area