+ ALL CITY OF PARIS MUSEUMS

Discover all 14 City of Paris museums

» Fermer

Rythme n°1

/ Robert Delaunay /

Rhythm n°1, mural for the Salon des Tuileries
1938
Oil on canvas
529 x 592 cm 

The City of Paris Museum of Modern art owns a representative selection of works by Robert Delaunay, which entered the collection as the result of purchases by the City from 1937 onwards or donations.

Following in the footsteps of certain colour theorists (Michel-Eugène Chevreul, Ogden Rood), prior to World War I, Delaunay was pursuing experiments into painting based on the law of contrasting colours which develop with time and can be perceived simultaneously. This particular type of Cubism, dubbed Orphism by Apollinaire, which creates the illusion of movement, is applied to motifs of a modern world experiencing rapid growth: the Eiffel tower, rotating aircraft propellers, sport.

In 1930, Delaunay returned to non object-based art with his Rhythms and Endless Rhythms in which colour alone expresses itself, determining the rhythms of the shapes by its organisation, proportions and spatial relationships. The International Exhibition in 1937 was an opportunity for many artists to attract commissions. Encouraged by the work of his wife, Sonia Terk, a painter and designer of “simultaneous” furniture and fabrics, he had been thinking for some time of abandoning easel painting in favour of art involving every type of space in everyday life. In collaboration with the architect Félix Aublet, Delaunay was commissioned to produce a large group of murals for the Railway Pavilion and the Air and Aeronautics Pavilion, which proved very popular with the public.

The following year, Albert Gleizes, Jacques Villon, André Lhote and Sonia and Robert Delaunay received commissions to produce large paintings to decorate the Sculpture hall. These huge compositions, exhibited in 1939 at the exhibition staged by the Réalités Nouvelles society at the Galerie Charpentier (considered to be the Salon for abstract art), were subsequently donated to the City of Paris. The dynamic potential of the coloured discs which seem to move before the eyes are used to give the composition its rhythm. A “synchromic” effect occurs when the vision is set in motion by the interplay of curves and counter curves, by the discs with concentric circles of different thicknesses which offset each other, and especially by contrasting complementary colours (red/green, blue/orange) and dissonances (red/blue ; pink/red/rouge, etc.). These canvases, for which the museum also owns the sketches, represent the culmination of Delaunay’s research prior to his premature death in 1941.

Find all works of Robert Delaunay here

Back
Rythme n°1 - ©Pierre Antoine

+ TOUS LES MUSÉES DE LA VILLE DE PARIS

DéCOUVREZ LES 14 MUSéES DE LA VILLE DE PARIS

» Fermer

RYTHME N°1

/ ROBERT DELAUNAY /

Décoration pour le Salon des Tuileries
1938
Huile sur toile
529 x 592 cm 

© Musée d'Art Moderne / Roger-Viollet

A la suite de certains théoriciens de la couleur (Michel-Eugène Chevreul, Ogden Rood), Delaunay poursuit, avant la première guerre mondiale la recherche d’une peinture fondée sur la loi des contrastes de couleurs se développant dans le temps et se percevant simultanément. Ce cubisme particulier, dénommé « Orphisme » par Apollinaire, donnant l’illusion du mouvement, se met au service d’une thématique d’un monde moderne en plein essor : Tour Eiffel, hélices d’avions en rotation, sport.

En 1930, Delaunay renoue avec l’art « inobjectif » dans les Rythmes et les Rythmes sans fin où s’exprime la couleur seule qui, par son organisation, sa dimension, ses rapports dans l’espace, détermine les rythmes des formes. L’Exposition internationale de 1937 est l’occasion pour bon nombre d’artistes de recevoir des commandes. Delaunay, appuyé par l’activité de son épouse Sonia Terk, peintre et créatrice de meubles et de tissus « simultanés », pose depuis longtemps la question de l’abandon d’une peinture de chevalet au profit d’un art investissant tous les espaces de la vie quotidienne. Delaunay fut chargé, en collaboration avec l’architecte Félix Aublet, d’un important ensemble de décorations pour le Pavillon des Chemins de fer et pour le Pavillon de l’Air et de l’Aéronautique, qui connurent un grand succès public.

L’année suivante, de grandes peintures sont commandées à Albert Gleizes, Jacques Villon, André Lhote, Sonia et Robert Delaunay pour décorer le hall de sculptures du Salon des Tuileries. Ces compositions monumentales, exposées en 1939 à l’Exposition du groupe des Réalités nouvelles (considéré comme le premier Salon d’Art abstrait, Galerie Charpentier), furent ensuite données à la Ville de Paris. Les possibilités dynamiques des disques colorés qui entrent en mouvement par la seule action physique du regard, sont exploitées pour donner leur rythme à la composition. Par un effet « synchromique », la vision est activée par les jeux de courbes et de contre-courbes, des disques aux cercles concentriques de diverses épaisseurs qui se contrarient, et surtout par les couleurs qui s’opposent en complémentaires (rouge/vert, bleu/orangé)  et en dissonances (rouge/bleu ; rose/rouge, etc.). Ces toiles   dont le Musée possède également les maquettes, constituent l’aboutissement des recherches de Delaunay avant sa disparition précoce en 1941.

Retrouvez les oeuvres de Robert Delaunay dans la collection en ligne du musée en cliquant ici

Retour
Rythme n°1 Robert Delaunay - © Musée d'Art Moderne / Roger-Viollet